VOLUNTEER REVIEWS

Thanks to all our wonderful volunteers, students and interns who have come over the years, we couldn’t do our work without you!  The selection of reviews don’t necessarily reflect our favourites, more when we remember to publish them. 

Click on the names or the photos to read more, and a few of our volunteers are happy for you to contact them so email us at lilongwewildlife@gmail.com if you want to speak to one of them.

And take a look at our gallery too!

REVIEWS

Volunteer review: AMELIA THORN, UK

Volunteer review: AMELIA THORN, UK

The time spent with the Lilongwe Wildlife Trust has genuinely been some of the most fantastic months of my life,
JAMES FAZAL, 33, UK

JAMES FAZAL, 33, UK

Why did you apply to join LWT?  After over 10 years working in full-time business roles I was ready for
STEPHANIE RUMORE, 23, AUSTRALIA, WILDLIFE JUSTICE INTERNSHIP

STEPHANIE RUMORE, 23, AUSTRALIA, WILDLIFE JUSTICE INTERNSHIP

Why did you apply to join LWT?: I’m in my final year of my Bachelor of Laws/ Bachelor of Communications and
DANIEL STUBBS, 19, UK

DANIEL STUBBS, 19, UK

I volunteered at LWT in the summer before I started university. It has always been something I wanted to do
CHARLENE LEE, 2018

CHARLENE LEE, 2018

LWT is an amazing life experience!  It’s great learning how to care for such a range of animals.  I learnt
PHILIP ROOS, 18, GERMANY

PHILIP ROOS, 18, GERMANY

It was a pleasure having this great experience at the Wildlife Centre.  Getting to know Malawi as well as different
BEE GROOM, 2018

BEE GROOM, 2018

I had the most amazing month at LWT, everyone is so friendly and the location in the city is perfect. 
Maureen Reiser, USA, 2018 – Wildlife Rehabilitation Course & Vet Externship

Maureen Reiser, USA, 2018 – Wildlife Rehabilitation Course & Vet Externship

Maureen spent four weeks with us, taking part in our Wildlife Rehabilitation Course and a Vet Externship.   Week 1
CALEY NEVIN, UK, 2018

CALEY NEVIN, UK, 2018

    Thanks so much for my time at Vwaza, I had a great time and it was an unforgettable
Elisabeth Labes, 50, Germany – March 2016 Wildlife Rehabilitation Course

Elisabeth Labes, 50, Germany – March 2016 Wildlife Rehabilitation Course

From 22 to 28 March 2016 I attended the Wildlife Rehabilitation Course at the Lilongwe Wildlife Centre. The course covered
Marie Therese Heggen, 24, Norway – March 2016 Wildlife Rehabilitation Course

Marie Therese Heggen, 24, Norway – March 2016 Wildlife Rehabilitation Course

I had a great experience and a lovely time during the course. It gave me a lot of new knowledge
Nadia Steenhouwer, 28, Netherlands – March-April 2016

Nadia Steenhouwer, 28, Netherlands – March-April 2016

My first time in Africa, and what a wonderful experience this was! There are a lot of projects in Africa,
Julie Kristensen, 20, Denmark – February 2016

Julie Kristensen, 20, Denmark – February 2016

I was at the center for 22 weeks (5 months) and I loved every second of it! It was all
Beckie Calder-Flynn, 22, New Zealand – February 2016

Beckie Calder-Flynn, 22, New Zealand – February 2016

LWC has been my most amazing volunteer experience to date. Fostering orphaned monkeys, assisting with lion’s health check, travelling to
Billie-Jo Housden, 21, England – January 2016

Billie-Jo Housden, 21, England – January 2016

I found the Wildlife Centre so welcoming, the people are always kind and willing to help. I have learnt so
Ed Clark, 19, UK – January 2016

Ed Clark, 19, UK – January 2016

Working at LWC, I really got to see all sides of rehabilitation. The animals there get the opportunity to actually
Sheelagh Beharry, 58, NZ – January 2016

Sheelagh Beharry, 58, NZ – January 2016

I spent two weeks at the Lilongwe Wildlife Centre and the only thing I can say is that it just
Holly Girard, 30, USA – December 2015

Holly Girard, 30, USA – December 2015

My time at LWC can only be described as the very clichéd “once in a lifetime” experience, only I hope
Jessica Doyle, 33, UK – October 2015

Jessica Doyle, 33, UK – October 2015

Escaping the dark and damp British Autumn was a very exciting prospect last year as I jumped onto a plane
Beccy Cadman, 20, England – September 2015

Beccy Cadman, 20, England – September 2015

This has been such a brilliant trip! The country, people and wildlife are amazing and the Lilongwe Wildlife Centre has
Jodi Thomas, 21, New Zealand – September 2015

Jodi Thomas, 21, New Zealand – September 2015

Jodi spent three months with LWT in Malawi, both at our sanctuary in Lilongwe and also joining the primate research
Sian Haigh-Brown, England – August 2015

Sian Haigh-Brown, England – August 2015

One of the most varied and passionate projects I have volunteered with. A thoroughly committed bunch of staff. A great
Andreea Tanasa, Romania – August 2015

Andreea Tanasa, Romania – August 2015

My stay at the LWC was an absolutely amazing experience! I loved the warmth of this place and the passion
Yfke Dulek, 23, The Netherlands – August 2015

Yfke Dulek, 23, The Netherlands – August 2015

As soon as you step into the sanctuary, you feel welcome and at home. Both the management and the local
Sophie Pettit, 25, New Zealand – July 2015

Sophie Pettit, 25, New Zealand – July 2015

LWC is an amazing experience in so many different ways. The staff are so welcoming and knowledgeable. As a volunteer
Benni Hintz, 21, Germany – July 2015

Benni Hintz, 21, Germany – July 2015

Lilongwe Wildlife Centre is one of the most ethical projects I know when it comes to handling animals. There were
George Lewis, 19, England – July 2015

George Lewis, 19, England – July 2015

Although the animals are fascinating it’s the people that I’ve worked with that have made the experience what it is.
Mary Townsend, 21, England – July 2015

Mary Townsend, 21, England – July 2015

Before arriving I knew I was going to have a good time but I didn’t realise how much I would
Clemency Magan, 21, Ireland – June 2015

Clemency Magan, 21, Ireland – June 2015

Name: Katherine Blakey Age: 21 Country: England Dates of stay: 02/06/15 – 11/8/15 (10 weeks) Your background: Graduate in Wildlife
Fliss Steventon, 24, England – June 2015

Fliss Steventon, 24, England – June 2015

  Name: Fliss Steventon Age: 24 Country: England, UK Dates of stay: 21/4/2015 – 14/7/2015 Occupation: Registered Veterinary Nurse  
Debbie Tyler, 55, England – June 2015

Debbie Tyler, 55, England – June 2015

Name: Debbie Tyler Age: 55 years Country: UK Dates of stay: 2-29 June 2015 Your background: Retired police officer    
Mary Penfold, 52, England – June 2015

Mary Penfold, 52, England – June 2015

Name: Mary Penfold Age: 53 years Country: UK Dates of stay: 2-29 June 2015 Your background: Retired police officer  
Clemency Magan, 21, Ireland – June 2015

Clemency Magan, 21, Ireland – June 2015

This was such a great experience. It was so good to see conservation work on the ground and the hands-off
Heidi Steggles, 42, England – June 2015

Heidi Steggles, 42, England – June 2015

I came here for only two weeks with no experience in this field or ever coming to Africa before and
Marie & Kevin Dixon, 42& 47, England – May 2015

Marie & Kevin Dixon, 42& 47, England – May 2015

Name: Marie & Kevin Dixon Age: 42 and 47 respectively Country: UK Dates of stay: 7 April – 12 May
Katie Burkett, 22, England – May 2015

Katie Burkett, 22, England – May 2015

During my time at the wildlife centre I have learnt a lot about animal rehabilitation and rescue. I was able
Natasha Hamilton, 25, Northern Ireland – April 2015

Natasha Hamilton, 25, Northern Ireland – April 2015

I was looking for a volunteer placement that would provide not only practical experience to boost my C.V. but also
Sandra Hilder, 26, England – April 2015

Sandra Hilder, 26, England – April 2015

Lilongwe Wildlife Centre is a very special place indeed. There was a friendly atmosphere with the other volunteers and members
Volunteer Blog: Anne-Marie Lub

Volunteer Blog: Anne-Marie Lub

LILONGWE WILDLIFE CENTRE NEWS: A blog from volunteer Anne-Marie Lub, from the Netherlands, accounting her first week working at Lilongwe
Rhianna Kay, 19, Ireland – February 2015

Rhianna Kay, 19, Ireland – February 2015

I came to the LWC during my gap year and to gain practical experience with animals. The main role of
Dannah Al-Rashoud, 31, England – February 2015

Dannah Al-Rashoud, 31, England – February 2015

I originally came to the wildlife centre for 4 weeks but after my time was up I didn’t feel ready
Caroline, 32, Scotland – December 2014

Caroline, 32, Scotland – December 2014

I’ve just come to the end of my two weeks at the Centre and week at Kuti Reserve. Both were
Telsha Arora, 26, England – November 2014

Telsha Arora, 26, England – November 2014

My stay at Lilongwe Wildlife Centre was 6 weeks long and during that time I experienced a variety of duties
Nicole Richter, 38, Germany – November 2014

Nicole Richter, 38, Germany – November 2014

I came to the Centre to fulfill a life-long dream, to help with animals in Africa. After a long search
Iona Cameron, 17, Scotland – October 2014

Iona Cameron, 17, Scotland – October 2014

I came to the wildlife centre on my gap year after just finishing school and, although I was young, I
Ailsa Maltby, 18, Scotland – September 2014

Ailsa Maltby, 18, Scotland – September 2014

Malawi, ‘The warm heart of Africa’, this is definitely one way to describe this fantastic country! I volunteered at the
Sarah Conley, 23, England – September 2014

Sarah Conley, 23, England – September 2014

I’ve recently returned from a 5 week stay at the Lilongwe Wildlife Centre… what an amazing experience! I was involved
Tara Kilachand, 33, India – August 2014

Tara Kilachand, 33, India – August 2014

Even if you read everything on the website and all the documents they email you before you reach, nothing quite
Stephanie Kurth, 21, USA – June 2014

Stephanie Kurth, 21, USA – June 2014

When I was first looking for volunteer opportunities abroad my main goal was to find a place where I could
Sean Marriott, 18, England – June 2014

Sean Marriott, 18, England – June 2014

I visited Lilongwe Wildlife Centre in June 2014 for just two weeks and it was the best experience in my