This month, 25 Ambassadors, High Commissioners, and Honorary Consuls united to share a message of support for Malawi’s efforts to combat illegal wildife trade, and remind all foreign nationals of the extent of Malawi’s laws on wildlife crime.  They took part in a group photo call and signed the letter below which was then sent to H.E. President Peter Mutharika. It is heartening to see that this is such an important priority for the international community!  

The message reads:


“We, the undersigned, wish to convey our congratulations to the Government of Malawi on efforts to combat illegal wildlife trade – a crime that threatens some of Africa’s most iconic species with extinction.
Under the leadership of H.E. President Peter Mutharika, tremendous strides have been made to strengthen legislation, law enforcement, and capacity in the courts in order to bring wildlife criminals to justice. The associated successes have led to global recognition and commendation.
We would also like to take this opportunity to remind all foreign citizens, residents, and visitors of the laws in Malawi.
It is illegal to buy, possess, or attempt to export any wildlife products without a Government permit. Wildlife crime carries a prison sentence of up to 30 years.
Let us all join hands to stop wildlife crime and protect Malawi’s rich natural heritage for generations to come”.


The letter was signed by heads of missions and representatives from the following nations: Australia, Brazil, China, Denmark, Egypt, European Union, Finland, Flanders, France, Germany, UK, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mozambique, Malaysia, Norway, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, UK, USA, and Zambia.

First row, left to right: Hon Consul Sylvia Giannakis (Switzerland), Hon Consul Len van der Hoeven (Sweden), Ambassador Robert K Scott (USA); High Commisioner Holly Tett (UK), Ambassador Juergen Borsch (Germany), Dep. Ambassador Wang Ziusheng (China), Ambassador Artur Jose Saraiva de Oliviera (Brazil), Hon Consul Zaida Costantini (Finland).

Second row: Hon Consul Fiona Peacey (Australia), High Commissioner Dr John Phiri  (Zambia), Dep. Ambassador Hirotsugu Ikeda (Japan), Ambassador Sandra Paesen (EU), Hon Consul Maria Soriano Giannakis (Spain), Ambassador Hassan Shawky (Egypt), Dep. High Commissioner Paul Siljeur (South Africa). 

Third row: Hon Consul Bouke Bijl (Netherlands), Irene Mambala (Flanders), High Commissioner Jorge Gune (Mozambique), Ambassador Gerry Cunningham (Ireland), Ambassador Steinar Egil Hagen (Norway), Consul Eugenio Sabelli (Italy), Hon Consul Kristian Moller (Denmark)